Weekend Workouts 7/6=7/7/2013

On Friday after trudging through a full day of work, I went to a party at my friend Jen’s house where we played board games and drank beer/spiked punch/hootch all night.  I got home late and managed to get a whopping 1.5 hours of sleep between 8:30am and 10am before making it to my old lady eye exam to see if I needed bifocals.  Doc was ok with my adapting to different distances but my right eye’s prescription changed a lot so I ordered a new pair of specs.  No bifocals needed yet.

After the exam, I dragged myself to swim.  It was hard.  I didn’t feel like eating nor did I have time so I was working out on residual energy.  I wasn’t sure flip turns were a good idea, either.  I wasn’t sloppy drunk Friday but I was definitely fatigued.  Cranium can take it out of a person!

600 warmup (200 swim/200 pull/200 kick)

400 pull

200 IM kick no board

5×100 IM

5×50 free

5×50 IM order then last one choice

100 cool down

I lost count during the 400 pull and ended up doing 200 extra.  Also, I took liberties with some rest time but because of that, my 50 free repeats hit in the 30’s and that was unexpected.  I haven’t done 30’s since I was in high school.  Let me beep beep beep go back and say these were very high 30’s.  I’m a long way and long weight off from getting anywhere close to 29 seconds!

After a short stint in the hot tub, I did 45 minutes of the spin bike on low resistance.  I was STARVING by the time I left the gym and scarfed down a cheese enchilada.

Today (Sunday), I only swam about 1000 yards since I was swimming with a woman who wanted me to give her some guidance.  I watched her swim a bit then we did 5 x 100 with the goal of short or no stops at each end of the lane during the 100’s.  She did great and was pretty consistent with her time though her form would start falling during the 3rd link.  We’d take 60 seconds rest between each 100 and go again.  She should be able to make it through her triathlon just fine in 2 months.

I did about 20 min of the spin bike and my high rep weights before taking a break for lunch.  Then I went to a different gym to take one of the free Everybody Dance class for National Dance Day.  It was a lot of fun!  There were about 20-25 of us in the room.  Every color, age, shape and size – it was neat to see so many turn out on a holiday weekend!  Here’s the routine below taught by two of my favorite dirty old men:

The master class isn’t being taught at the YMCA I went to but I think some dance studios are teaching this routine with Tabitha, Napoleon and Comfort below (oops, forgot new baby London in there, too):

Anybody learning this routine out there?  I think I’ll try this at home.

Leave a Reply

