Xanga stuff

Hmmmmm.

Xanga transitioned my blog to WordPress even though I didn’t pay for that whole membership thing.  I forgot I was premium for life – a big Xanga mistake business wise in my opinion.  On average for me it cost less than a dollar a month.  Way less.  Anyway, not sure if being premium for life made a difference in the transition or not.

So if I can figure out if I can combine these two blogs together . . . eh, screw it.  I’ll just have it as a separate identity and hopefully those who survived the move are easy to find.

 

12 comments
  1. cagey said:

    You are aware there is no more lifetime membership, right? Your blog may be imported over but you will not be able to use it until you pay $48 per year.

    That being said, WordPress has made a FAQ for users that would like to transition away from Xanga and onto WordPress for free. http://en.support.wordpress.com/import/import-from-xanga/ 🙂

    • Thanks – I didn’t think they’d import accounts of those who didn’t pay so I was surprised to see my blog up. I should’ve just deleted it altogether. Stopped keeping track a couple of months ago.

  2. Yeah, I had deleted most everything from my blog, but they transitioned it anyway. Now I’m trying to figure out how to close the damn thing.

    • I archived but decided not to outright move it here. I’ll be looking for the same thing, a way to delete it altogether.

  3. Anita said:

    Because I was free for a couple of years, all my stuff is locked up in the ether until I pay up. Which is fine by me. I downloaded my archives after my final post. 🙂

  4. dawnmarie78 said:

    I was on Xanga too and logged in the other day to see the new Xanga 2.0. I have yet to be charged and can still make updates for free. I’m so frustrated with the changes they made and how they’ve led people to believe we were going to be charged once it was up and running … at least for now we’re not.

  5. GrannysPlace said:

    I was on Xanga for over 8 years and got screwed out of 3 years of premium plus so I am here now and not there. I like it here.

  6. hey welcome to wordpress hehe. I was on Xanga for like 4.5 years. so. haha.

    I’m enjoying wordpress so far =)

  7. Dear ex-Xanga blogger,
    You shall find that WordPress is not only a much easier system to publish, it will offer you more (interesting) readers and writers to get in contact with.

    I do hope you will find your place in this virtual world but would be willing to contribute some interesting ideas to the real world for free.
    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

